Arsenal, Chelsea & Tottenham discover UEFA punishment for agreeing to join European Super League

UEFA have announced the disciplinary measures taken against nine of the clubs, including Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham, that signed up for a breakaway Super League.

The three London clubs and six other sides who announced their intention to leave UEFA competitions before performing a swift u-turn have agreed to sacrifice five percent of their European competition revenue and will also make a collective donation of €15million to UEFA as part of a reconciliation agreement with the governing body.

Importantly, there will be no ban from UEFA competitions for the nine clubs, who have all rejoined the European Club Association (ECA) and “accept the binding nature of the UEFA Statutes.”

Under the Club Commitment Declaration, they have also agreed to substantial fines being imposed if they seek to play in such an unauthorised competition (€100million) or if they breach any other commitment they have entered into in the Club Commitment Declaration (€50million).

Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus are the only three founding Super League clubs who have yet to agree to the declaration. That trio will now be referred to UEFA’ disciplinary panel.

UEFA President, Aleksander Ceferin said: “I said at the UEFA Congress two weeks ago that it takes a strong organisation to admit making a mistake especially in these days of trial by social media. These clubs have done just that.

“In accepting their commitments and willingness to repair the disruption they caused, UEFA wants to put this chapter behind it and move forward in a positive spirit.

“The measures announced are significant, but none of the financial penalties will be retained by UEFA. They will all be reinvested into youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe, including the UK.

“These clubs recognised their mistakes quickly and have taken action to demonstrate their contrition and future commitment to European football. The same cannot be said for the clubs that remain involved in the so-called ‘Super League’ and UEFA will deal with those clubs subsequently.”

Source link

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr
Share on stumbleupon