BNP Paribas Open 2022: Draws, Dates, History & All You Need To Know | ATP Tour

The world’s best players will compete at the BNP Paribas Open for the 45th edition of the ATP Masters 1000 event, held in Indian Wells. New World No. 1 Daniil Medvedev and three-time 2022 titlist Rafael Nadal will lead the way at the first Masters 1000 of the season.

Here’s what you need to know.

When is the BNP Paribas Open?

The 2022 BNP Paribas Open will be held from 10-20 March. The hard-court tournament, established in 1976, will take place at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, California. The tournament director is former World No. 2 Tommy Haas.

Who is playing at the 2022 BNP Paribas Open?

The BNP Paribas Open will feature all of the Top 20 players in the ATP Rankings, led by Daniil Medvedev, with reigning champion Cameron Norrie returning.

When is the draw for the BNP Paribas Open?

The Indian Wells draw will be made on Tuesday 8 March at 3:00 p.m.

What is the schedule for the Indian Wells ATP Masters 1000 event?

* Qualifying: Tuesday, 8 March – Wednesday, 9 March at 11:00 a.m.
* Main Draw: Thursday, 10 March – Sunday, 20 March. Thursday, 10 March – Thursday, 17 March at 11:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. Friday, 18 March 12:00 p.m.
* Doubles Final: Saturday, 19 March Not Before 5:00 p.m.
* Singles Final: Sunday, 20 March Not Before 3:00 p.m.
* View On Official Website

What is the prize money for the BNP Paribas Open?

The prize money for the BNP Paribas Open is $8,584,055 and the Total Financial Commitment is $9,554,920.

Winner: $1,231,245 / 1,000 points
Finalist: $646,110 / 600 points
Semi-finalist: $343,985 / 360 points
Quarter-finalist: $179,940 / 180 points
Round of 16: $94,575 / 90 points
Round of 32: $54,400 / 45 points
Round of 64: $30,130 / 25 points
Round of 96: $18,200 / 10 points

DOUBLES ($ per team)
Winner: $426,010 / 1,000 points
Finalist: $225,980 / 600 points
Semi-finalist: $120,520 / 360 points
Quarter-finalist: $61,100 / 180 points
Round of 16: $32,630 / 90 points
Round of 32: $17,580 / 45 points

How can I watch the BNP Paribas Open?

Watch Live On Tennis TV
TV Schedule

How can I follow the BNP Paribas Open?

Hashtag: #IndianWells
Instagram: @bnpparibasopen

You May Also Like:

Murray Receives Indian Wells Wild Card

Are You In? Subscribe To Get ATP Updates In Your Inbox 

Who won the last edition of the BNP Paribas Open in 2021?

Norrie won the 2021 BNP Paribas Open singles title with a 3-6, 6-4, 6-1 victory against Nikoloz Basilashvili in the championship match (Read & Watch). John Peers and Filip Polasek lifted the doubles trophy in Indian Wells with a 6-3, 7-6(5) triumph against Aslan Karatsev and Andrey Rublev in the final (Read More).

Who holds the Indian Wells record for most titles, oldest champion, youngest champion and more?

Most Titles, Singles: Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer (5)
Most Titles, Doubles: Mark Knowles, Daniel Nestor (4)
Oldest Champion: Roger Federer, 35, in 2017
Youngest Champion: Boris Becker, 19, in 1987
Highest-Ranked Champion: No. 1 Jimmy Connors in 1976, Jim Courier in 1993, Pete Sampras in 1994-95, Lleyton Hewitt in 2002-03, Roger Federer in 2004-06, Rafael Nadal in 2009, Novak Djokovic in 2015-16
Lowest-Ranked Champion: No. 143 Larry Stefanki in 1985
Last Home Champion: Andre Agassi in 2001
Most Match Wins: Roger Federer (66)

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Key Storylines

World No. 1 Medvedev: Medvedev will compete as the World No. 1 for the first time when he takes to court in Indian Wells, having soared to the top of ATP Rankings at the end of February. The 26-year-old, who reached the final at the Australian Open earlier this season, will be aiming to win his maiden title of the year at the Masters 1000 event. However, he has never been beyond the fourth round at the tournament in his four previous appearances.

Can Nadal Stay Perfect? Nadal has started the 2022 season on fire, clinching trophies at the Melbourne Summer Set, Australian Open and the Abierto Mexicano Telcel presentado por HSBC. The Spaniard’s victory at the first major of the year meant he moved to a record-breaking 21 Grand Slam crowns. The 35-year-old, who is 15-0 on the season, has triumphed in the Californian desert three times (2007, 09, 13).

Rublev On A Roll: The World No. 6 has regained the winning feeling over the past month, lifting titles in Marseille and Dubai. Andrey Rublev has now earned five ATP 500 crowns following his victory in Dubai, but the 24-year-old will be keen to transfer this form to Masters 1000 level. Rublev has yet to win a title at this level, with his best performance in Indian Wells runs to the third round in 2019 and 2021.

Trio Seeking First Title Of Season: Top 10 stars Stefanos Tsitsipas, Matteo Berrettini and Hubert Hurkacz will all be attempting to win their first trophy of the season in Indian Wells. Tsitsipas’ best result this season was a run to the final in Rotterdam (l. to Auger-Aliassime), while Berrettini reached the semi-finals at the Australian Open. Hurkacz, who captured his maiden Masters 1000 title in Miami last year, advanced to the last four in Dubai.

Hurkacz and Tsitsipas both reached the quarter-finals in Indian Wells in 2021, but Berrettini only advanced to the third round.

#NextGenATP Danger: It is hard to believe Carlos Alcaraz and Jannik Sinner are only 18 and 20 years old respectively given the mark they have made since arriving on Tour. The pair, who have both lifted the Intesa Sanpaolo Next Gen ATP Finals trophy, has clinched seven tour-level titles between them. Alcaraz became the youngest player to win an ATP 500 event when he triumphed in Rio de Janeiro in February, while Sinner captured four crowns in a standout 2021 season. Both will make their second appearance in Indian Wells.

Did You Know?

The 44th edition of the tournament was held in October last year due to the Covid-19 pandemic, with the event cancelled in 2020. It returns to March once again in 2022 and is the first Masters 1000 of the season.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.