Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher believes Granit Xhaka’s challenge on Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg in the build-up to Arsenal’s second goal was not a foul.
Aaron Ramsdale played the ball to the Switzerland international and Hojbjerg tried to intercept, but Xhaka did everything he could to ensure Arsenal kept possession, before the hosts went up the other end and doubled their tally.
Gallagher, when speaking about the incident on Sky Sports News on Monday morning, was sure that it was not a foul.
Gallagher said: “I thought no [it’s not a foul], I think he was protecting the ball.
“I still think that would have been a long, long way to go back if the VAR was to intervene, but that being said, I don’t think it was a foul. It’s gone the full length of the pitch anyway, but for me, no.
“There’s a lot of play in between, isn’t there? It’s got to go through a lot of players in between, it’s got to go through players, so I don’t think it was a foul anyhow.”
Kane was sure he had won his side a penalty at 3-0 down, which could have sparked a comeback, but Craig Pawson was not convinced and the Video Assistant Referee did not overrule the on-field official.
Gallagher thinks Arsenal defender White was “lucky” to get away with the incident, but can understand why VAR did not go against Pawson’s decision.
In each football.london bulletin, we’ll bring you the latest breaking news, transfer features and comment pieces on your favourite club, as well as the key talking points for fans.
You won’t miss a thing – you’ll get all the news you need right to your inbox. We’ll also send special newsletters when big stories break or there’s a special event happening.
You can sign up for Arsenal updates here.
You can sign up for Chelsea updates here.
You can sign up for Tottenham updates here.
You can sign up for West Ham updates here.
He said: “I think he’s lucky. He doesn’t get the ball, Kane gets there quickly, he’s a bit slow and catches him.
“I wouldn’t have been surprised if he got a penalty given there. What I would say is that it didn’t meet the threshold for an obvious error. I thought they were checking if it was inside or outside [the box] at first.
“It’s a difficult one, because if the referee gave a penalty, I don’t think the VAR would’ve gone against him either.”