Lionel Messi wins Best FIFA Men’s Player award as USWNT star Alex Morgan misses out on best women’s player

Getty Images

The Best FIFA Football awards took place in Paris on Monday night and as expected, Lionel Messi took home Best FIFA Men’s Player honors after leading his national team to World Cup glory in December. He beat out two French players, PSG teammate Kylian Mbappe and Real Madrid’s superstar forward Karim Benzema. 

Elsewhere, Alex Morgan could not claim Best FIFA Women’s Player as it went to Alexia Putellas of Spain and Barcelona for a second consecutive year, while Argentina men’s national team coach Lionel Scaloni and England women’s national team coach Sarina Weigman both took home the top coaching honors. Scaloni led Argentina to the Copa America and World Cup titles while Weigman led England to glory at the Euros. 

Here are all of the winners:

Best FIFA Men’s Player

  • Lionel Messi (Argentina, PSG)

Best FIFA Women’s Player

  • Alexia Putellas (SpainBarcelona)

FIFA Puskas Award finalists

Best FIFA Men’s Coach finalists 

  • Lionel Scaloni (Argentina)

Best FIFA Women’s Coach finalists 

Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper finalists

  • Emiliano Martinez (Argentina, Aston Villa)

Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper finalists

  • Mary Earps (England, Manchester United)

FIFPRO Men’s World 11

  • Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium)
  • Defenders: Joao Cancelo (Manchester City/Bayern Munich, Portugal), Achraf Hakimi (Paris Saint-Germain, Morocco), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool, Netherlands)
  • Midfielders: Casemiro (Real Madrid/ Manchester United, Brazil), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium), Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
  • Forwards: Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France), Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund/Manchester City, Norway,) Kylian Mbappe, (Paris Saint-Germain, France), Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain, Argentina)

FIFPRO Women’s World 11

  • Goalkeeper: Christiane Endler (Olympique Lyonnais, Chile)
  • Defenders: Lucy Bronze (Manchester City Barcelona, England), Mapi Leon (Barcelona, Spain), Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais, France), Leah Williamson (Arsenal, England)
  • Midfielders: Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg, Germany), Alexia Putellas (Barcelona, Spain), Keira Walsh (Manchester City Barcelona, England)
  • Forwards: Sam Kerr (Chelsea, Australia), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride/San Diego Wave, USA), Beth Mead (Arsenal, England)

FIFA Fan Award

  • Argentina national team fans

FIFA Fair Play winner

  • Georgian defender Luka Lochoshvil, for making a life-saving intervention during an Austrian Bundesliga match.

Source link