One Arsenal player nominated as PFA Player of the Year awards lists revealed

Just one Arsenal player has been nominated in the annual PFA Player of the Year awards.

The Gunners have had a disappointing campaign, missing out on European football for 25 years after finishing eighth despite a late upturn in form domestically.

Mikel Arteta‘s men were hoping to win the Europa League to get themselves back into Europe, but a semi-final defeat to eventual winners Villarreal halted their progress.

But despite the disappointment of having to settle for a lowly league finish and no European success, there were some positives for Arsenal, namely in the form of some of the young talent.

Few senior stars stood out, and that’s why no senior Gunners are nominated for this season’s PFA Player of the Year, but Bukayo Saka has been nominated for Young Player of the Year award.

Saka is one of six players to be shortlisted for the award, along with West Ham’s Declan Rice, Mason Greenwood of Manchester United, Chelsea’s Mason Mount, Phil Foden of Manchester City and Trent Alexander-Arnold of Liverpool.

Saka scored seven goals and provided 10 assists for the Gunners across all competitions, but he is not likely to be favourite to win the award given some of the achievements of the others nominated.

Mount managed to win the Champions League with Chelsea, impressing throughout the season, while Foden, who is also nominated for the senior award, lifted the Premier League following a fine season with Manchester City.

Do you want all the latest news from around Arsenal Football Club straight to your email inbox?

Of course you do.

By signing up for our Arsenal newsletter, you will receive a twice-daily email, focused on all the latest news from the Emirates Stadium.

And, not only that, but you will get exclusive content from our club writers Chris Wheatley and Kaya Kaynak before anyone else.

You won’t miss a thing when it comes to the Gunners.

How do you sign up?

It’s easy and only takes seconds.

Simply type your email address into the box at the top of this article – or any article on the Arsenal section of in fact – labelled ‘Get the biggest daily stories by email’ and click ‘Subscribe’.

Alternatively, you can click here and tick the Arsenal box to subscribe for our Gunners newsletter.

If you decide later that you no longer wish to receive the emails, simply follow the unsubscribe link in one of the newsletters – but we don’t think you’ll want to.

Nevertheless, Arsenal fans will be keen to see Saka pick up the gong, following on from last season’s winner Alexander-Arnold and previous winners Raheem Sterling, Leroy Sane, Dele Alli and Harry Kane.

The nominees for the senior Player of the Year are Foden, Kevin De Bruyne, Ilkay Gundogan and Ruben Dias of Manchester City, Bruno Fernandes of Manchester United and Harry Kane of Tottenham.

The end-of-season PFA Awards take place this coming Sunday at 7:30pm.

Source link

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr
Share on stumbleupon