Premier League’s ‘big six’ face significant fines following failed Super League attempt

The six English clubs behind the failed Super League breakaway are set to be pubished with significant fines but will escape points deductions, according to reports.

Arsenal, Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur, in addition to Liverpool and both Manchester clubs, were forced into an embarrassing U-turn following pressure from government and supporters, disquiet from players and managers, and fury from the league’s other 14 sides less than 48 hours after the controversial plans were announced.

While Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus remain part of the breakaway company, all six English sides submitted paperwork to withdraw their participation despite US investment firm JP Morgan Chase lining up a $3.5bn starter loan to get the closed shop league up and running.

Such was the anger among the other 14 Premier League clubs, a swift decision was taken to punish the “big six” and, according to the Telegraph, they are set to announce major financial penalties imminently.

Richard Masters, the Premier League chief executive, is also set to introduce new rules to block clubs from attempting future breakaways, while the government has committed to a fan-led review into governance across the sport that is being chaired by former sports minister Tracey Crouch.

Supporters of the ‘big six’ clubs continue to make their voices heard against their owners with Arsenal fans again gathering outside the Emirates last night.

Tottenham supporters are planning to stage a protest before their final Premier League game of the season against Aston Villa, while Chelsea confirmed earlier this week that they will allow fan representatives to sit on board meetings, though they will not be given any voting powers.

Source link