Trevoh Chalobah was left baffled after Liverpool midfielder Naby Keita somehow escaped punishment for a shocking tackle in Chelsea’s Carabao Cup defeat at Wembley on Sunday.
The Blues managed to hold the Reds for 120 minutes with the game ending goalless despite each side finding the net – the linesman’s flag intervening on a number of occasions.
In the end, it took a Kepa Arrizabalaga penalty miss for Jurgen Klopp’s side to secure the trophy.
There was a hugely contentious moment throughout the match though with Reds’ midfielder Naby Keita catching Chalobah with an extremely high challenge.
Neither the referee nor VAR thought the tackle was just cause for a sending off, a decision that left Chalobah baffled after receiving stitches post-match.
Taking to Twitter, the 22-year-old said: “Had to get stitches because of this. Referee is right there I don’t get it??”
Intriguingly, the Guinean midfielder wasn’t actually meant to be on the pitch at all before the match with Spanish midfielder Thiago Alcantara originally named in Jurgen Klopp ’s starting line-up.
However, the former Barcelona and Bayern Munich man picked up an injury in the warm-up so was thus replaced.
Former Liverpool defender Jamie Carragher was also shocked at the challenge and suggested in the post-match coverage that Keita could have seen red.
Speaking on Sky Sports, he said: “When it initially happened, I thought the two of them had gone for it and completely missed the ball, that’s why I thought the referee let the game go on.
“The longer you look at it, it’s not a great challenge is it? Obviously slow motion always looks worse but as I said it doesn’t look great.”
Chalobah will certainly be hoping to make a quick recovery from the challenge, with the Blues next in action on Wednesday evening as they face Luton Town in the fifth round of the FA Cup.