Why was Kylian Mbappe’s goal for France in Nations League final vs Spain allowed to stand?



Kylian Mbappe’s 80th-minute winner for France in the Nations League final against Spain on Sunday was fiercely protested by the opposition but ultimately allowed to stand.

Spain contended that Mbappe was offside before receiving the breakaway pass – and he certainly appeared to be at first glance – but referees determined defender Eric Garcia’s touch of the ball as he tried to make a last-ditch interception was enough to put the attacker onside.

Spain captain Sergio Busquets said after his 2-1 defeat that the explanation he received “doesn’t make sense”.

What happened?